Seven Chakras Basic Meaning

The first Chakra, the Root Chakra, is at the base of the spine and is red. It represents home, family, fear, flight, survival instincts, and a connection to the earth or the physical realm.

The second Chakra, the Sacral Chakra, is orange and connects to the ovaries and the testes. It represents bringing pleasure into your life. It’s where the sexual energy is stored and where our art and creativity energies lie, just below the belly button.

The third Chakra, the Solar Plexus, is yellow (some call it the yellow jewel) and located in the abdomen. It’s how we express or suppress our emotions, give up our power to others, or stay in control.

The fourth Chakra, the Heart Chakra, is green and located in the heart area. It’s connected to the thymus gland. It represents love and compassion, having empathy for ourselves, or having empathy for others. It’s the bridge between the physical and the spirit world.

The fifth Chakra, the Throat Chakra, is blue and is in the throat area connected to the thyroid gland. It represents speaking our truth, expressing our words, and there is no fear of holding back our communication with others. It’s also our communication Guides and angels.

The sixth Chakra, the Third Eye, is indigo, located in the pituitary gland (between the eyebrows). It represents your spiritual senses beyond your physical purposes and is where your intuition or psychic ability is stored.

The seventh Chakra, the Crown Chakra, is violet, white, gold, or a rainbow of colours above the head (pineal gland) and is connected to religious faith or Spirituality. There’s more beyond the physical world, including God, Creator, Source, or something existing beyond the physical world.

Advanced chakras courses will go into a more in-depth understanding of the anatomy of the chakras, emotional understanding of the chakras, and tools used for healing and understanding.